Home > About us > Our team

Our team

 

Professor Karen Barnes
CCOAT Founding Director & Principal Investigator

Professor, UCT Division of Clinical Pharmacology

Director, Worldwide Antimalarial Resistance Network (WWARN) Pharmacology

Karen.barnes@uct.ac.za

Tel:+27 21 4066294

 

Dr. Elizabeth Allen

Senior Clinical Research Manager

Coordinator, Global Health Trials South Africa, Global Pharmacovigilance

elizabeth.allen@uct.ac.za

Tel: +27 21 6504070

 

Dr. Phumla Sinxadi

Lead Investigator

Senior Lecturer,UCT Division of Clinical Pharmacology

phumla.sinxadi@uct.ac.za

Tel:+27 21 650-4096

 

Mrs. Lesley Workman

Senior Data Manager

WWARN Pharmacology Scientific Coordinator

Lesley.Workman@wwarn.org

Tel:+27 21 650-4077

 

Mr Aaron Mabuza

Project Coordinator, malaria field studies and elimination activities

aaron.mabuza@uct.ac.za

 

 

Mrs Faikah Davids

Clinical Research Assistant

faikah.davids@uct.ac.za

Tel: +27 21 406-6996

Dr Elize Pietersen

Project Coordinator, Global Research Nurses

elize.pietersen@uct.ac.za

 

 

 

Key Collaborating Centre members include:

 

Prof Kelly Chibale

Founding Director, H3-D; DST/NRF SARChI

Chair in Drug Discovery Department of Chemistry

University of Cape Town

 

Prof Lucille Blumberg 

Deputy Director 

National Institute for Communicable Diseases 

National Health Laboratory Service

 

A/Prof Francesca Little 

Head of the Department of Statistical Sciences 

University of Cape Town

Other collaborators include:

 

Dr Jaishree Raman

Senior Scientist  

National Institute of Communicable Diseases

 

Dr Ushma Mehta

Independent Pharmacovigilance Consultant 

 

Philip Kruger

Programme Manager

Provincial Malaria Control Program, 

Limpopo Province

 

Dr Lubbe Wiesner

Senior Lecturer  

Bioanalytical Laboratory, Division of Clinical Pharmacology  

University of Cape Town

 

Dr Paolo Denti 

Senior Lecturer  

Pharmacometrics Unit, Division of Clinical Pharmacology 

University of Cape Town